ROM Configuration Trashed Upon Installation (resolved)

Comments on the Strongbolt v1.x Centos/Bluequartz installer for RaQ 3/4's and 550s - including any fixes or help requests when things go wrong!

Moderator: LiamM

ROM Configuration Trashed Upon Installation (resolved)

Postby hemingwj on Thu Sep 21, 2006 2:53 pm

I have a RaQ 3i that was formerly running the 550 image, having had the ROM successfully updated.

Upon installing from the Strongbolt CDROM, the installer updated the ROM again and rebooted. The front panel is now unresponsive and the serial terminal displays:

Can't open cicfs file "/monitor"
load monitor failed

Sun Cobalt Minimonitor

Several options are given, including using minimonitor to download and run a new monitor. For the moment, this installation has converted a previously working RaQ 3i to essentially a boat anchor. Please advise.
hemingwj
Forum member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 1:54 pm

Re: ROM Configuration Trashed Upon Installation

Postby TimSB on Thu Sep 21, 2006 6:31 pm

hemingwj wrote:I have a RaQ 3i that was formerly running the 550 image, having had the ROM successfully updated.

Upon installing from the Strongbolt CDROM, the installer updated the ROM again and rebooted. The front panel is now unresponsive and the serial terminal displays:

Can't open cicfs file "/monitor"
load monitor failed

Sun Cobalt Minimonitor

Several options are given, including using minimonitor to download and run a new monitor. For the moment, this installation has converted a previously working RaQ 3i to essentially a boat anchor. Please advise.



Hi,

Sorry to hear your RaQ's gone "nautical..."

Did you read this thread:

http://www.osoffice.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=132

Can you monitor the serial port while the RaQ boots and capture the output and quote here?


regards,

Tim
TimSB
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 12:30 pm
Location: north of London, UK

I did and I will.

Postby hemingwj on Thu Sep 21, 2006 7:25 pm

I'll post my findings shortly. I confident that this will be something relatively simple.
hemingwj
Forum member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 1:54 pm

Re: I did and I will.

Postby hemingwj on Thu Sep 21, 2006 7:42 pm

hemingwj wrote:I'll post my findings shortly. I confident that this will be something relatively simple.


Can't open crfs file "/monitor"
Load monitor failed

Sun Cobalt MiniMonitor
-------------------------------------
h - display help
m - download and run new monitor
b - download and run a bzip2ed monitor
q - quit MiniMonitor (proceed to Monitor)

>



That's everything I get. I'm assuming that if I am able to locate a copy of and download to the RaQ this "new monitor", then I will be on my way to restoring the BIOS and trying the install again.

Selecting q produces "Halting system...."

Selecting m produces "Loading monitor from serial port..."
hemingwj
Forum member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 1:54 pm

Postby jimbob on Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:24 pm

Hi hemingwj,

Have you tried to move the memory to an other slot ?

Jimbob
Strongbolt - new life for old raqs
jimbob
Site Admin
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 9:09 am
Location: Devon, UK

Postby jimbob on Thu Sep 21, 2006 9:57 pm

Please try the following:
This requires a Linux PC with a serial connection to the RaQ.

download the following file to a Linux PC

http://www.osoffice.co.uk/linux/misc/monitor.bz2

Launch minicom and boot the RaQ

When it halts at :

Sun Cobalt Minimonitor

Press b

Switch to another terminal and do

cat monitor.bz2 > /dev/ttyS0

This will upload the monitor file to the RaQ.

Please let us know if this works.

Jimbob
Strongbolt - new life for old raqs
jimbob
Site Admin
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 9:09 am
Location: Devon, UK

Fully operational

Postby hemingwj on Fri Sep 22, 2006 2:58 pm

A corollary of Murphy’s Law stipulates that the more a customer bellows and points fingers at the vendor, the higher the probability that the malfunction is due to customer error. I decided to skip that phase and keep an open mind.

The RaQ 3i is working perfectly now with your OS installed.

I followed the instructions you linked, installed monitor.bz2 through the serial port, used the newly installed full monitor to flash the BIOS to the correct cobalt-2.10.3-ext3-1M.rom, and then initiated the standard Strongbolt installation procedure via CDROM and crossover cable.

The CDROM installation failed repeatedly and on the same RPM, which confirmed a growing suspicion: the blank CDROM to which I burned the Strongbolt .iso image I downloaded was defective. A fresh burn allowed the installation to run to completion and without errors, and I now have a fully operational Strongbolt CentOS RaQ to demonstrate the value of this technology.

All tumbles for want of a nail, which is typically the case. I very strongly suspect that a defective CDROM costing $ .10 was the source of a corrupted ROM image, temporarily derailing this project. I’ll send a bill for a dime to the CD-R vendor.

Thank you for your assistance.
hemingwj
Forum member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 1:54 pm

Re: Fully operational

Postby TimSB on Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:39 pm

hemingwj wrote:The RaQ 3i is working perfectly now with your OS installed.



Good news. Jimbob will be pleased.

Was pretty sure that it had to be simple - we've done enough installs of the SB software package to now know that it works 99% of the time without issue.

As always, this is a lesson learnt to all, that sometimes, the smallest of details scuppers the whole thing...

Hope you enjoy using your new RaQ....!

regards,

Tim
TimSB
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 12:30 pm
Location: north of London, UK

Postby jimbob on Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:46 pm

Fantastic!

Hopefully this may help others with the same "MiniMonitor" problem.

It was actually very lucky that recovery was possible at all.

Jimbob
Strongbolt - new life for old raqs
jimbob
Site Admin
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 9:09 am
Location: Devon, UK

Re: ROM Configuration Trashed Upon Installation (resolved)

Postby bjoepen on Fri Feb 26, 2010 2:02 pm

Well...tody, i suffer from this problem too.

I´ve installed SB on a RAQ3 and there comes also this...

Can't open cicfs file "/monitor"
load monitor failed

Is there any chance to get the monitor.bz2 ?

Hopefully i would be able to get my RAQ up again.

Thanks in advance,

Bernd
bjoepen
Forum member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 1:57 pm

Re: ROM Configuration Trashed Upon Installation (resolved)

Postby lp86 on Tue Mar 02, 2010 4:32 pm

The /linux directory where this and a lot of other fixes are stored now appears to be password protected. I will shoot them a email and see what is going on.
Lucas Peyatt
Ohio Web Hosting & Development
www.ohiowebhosting.net
lucas@ohiowebhosting.net
lp86
Super Forum member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:07 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio


Return to Strongbolt Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron