Well.....?

This section has been created in advance of some new products being made available. Are you getting interested yet? What might this section be for? More news in due course !!

Moderator: LiamM

Well.....?

Postby TimSB on Tue May 20, 2008 11:43 am

I think I can guess......coz a little bird gave me some hints..... 8)

So, I don't think I'll let ANYTHING out of the bag yet.....so, as this is for FUN, here's some ideas that are NOT being developed:

- A new variant of Strongbolt that runs on a MIPS CPU (which is inside a RaQ 1/2)

- A Solaris based OS, that works on a RaQ

- A PCI card with external antennae that connects to the internet via 802.11n

- Provision to use the USB socket to connect via Bluetooth

- A graphical display "kit" to upgrade the existing 2 line display

- A new accelerator algorithm that speeds up slow CPU's

- A software based cache that reduces movements of the heads on the HDD, thereby making them more reliable

Any more ??

regards

Tim
Any advice I may give is given in good faith but may be incorrect so listen to what other people have to say as well and don't blame me when it all goes tits up.
TimSB
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 12:30 pm
Location: north of London, UK

Postby ninjapirate on Tue May 20, 2008 1:54 pm

Strongbolt 2 :mrgreen: i think, little birdie came my way as well lol!
ninjapirate
Forum member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK

Postby TimSB on Tue May 20, 2008 2:07 pm

ninjapirate wrote:Strongbolt 2 :mrgreen: i think, little birdie came my way as well lol!


SHHHHHHHHH !!!! :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:


But that's not all, is it ?????? :wink:


regards

Tim
Any advice I may give is given in good faith but may be incorrect so listen to what other people have to say as well and don't blame me when it all goes tits up.
TimSB
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 12:30 pm
Location: north of London, UK

Postby macwunder on Tue May 20, 2008 10:00 pm

Strongbolt 2?!?

I still haven't received the link to download my upgrade to 1.06 installer... :D

I'm getting ready to dump my 4r for a Velociraptor... Need to fresh install.
Jeff -- Yellow RaQ XTR, 1x (so far) 1GHz P-III, 2GB RAM, 4 x 80GB RAID 1+0, SB1
PowerMac G3 500 MHz, 512 MB RAM, 40 GB, Ubuntu
HP DC7100 3 GHz P4 HT, 2.5 GB RAM, 4 x 320 GB RAID 1+0, BlueOnyx
HP has 12,000 BOGOMIPS Baby!!!
User avatar
macwunder
Legendary Forum member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 9:34 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Postby TimSB on Tue May 20, 2008 10:19 pm

macwunder wrote:Strongbolt 2?!?

I still haven't received the link to download my upgrade to 1.06 installer...

I'm getting ready to dump my 4r for a Velociraptor... Need to fresh install.


Ping an email to James and he'll sort it out for you.

regards

Tim
Any advice I may give is given in good faith but may be incorrect so listen to what other people have to say as well and don't blame me when it all goes tits up.
TimSB
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 12:30 pm
Location: north of London, UK

Postby macwunder on Tue May 20, 2008 10:27 pm

My post looks more mean than I meant it. I should have put a smiley in there...

I had originally told him that I wanted the upgrade installer, but the fresh installer would be more useful. I'll ping him.
Jeff -- Yellow RaQ XTR, 1x (so far) 1GHz P-III, 2GB RAM, 4 x 80GB RAID 1+0, SB1
PowerMac G3 500 MHz, 512 MB RAM, 40 GB, Ubuntu
HP DC7100 3 GHz P4 HT, 2.5 GB RAM, 4 x 320 GB RAID 1+0, BlueOnyx
HP has 12,000 BOGOMIPS Baby!!!
User avatar
macwunder
Legendary Forum member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 9:34 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Postby TimSB on Tue May 20, 2008 10:57 pm

macwunder wrote:My post looks more mean than I meant it. I should have put a smiley in there...

I had originally told him that I wanted the upgrade installer, but the fresh installer would be more useful. I'll ping him.


No worries.

I never got the upgrade installer either :-( .....so when I came to "upgrade" I just did a fresh installation and then put the vsites back on there...!

regards

Tim

PS I put a smiley in your O/P !!
Any advice I may give is given in good faith but may be incorrect so listen to what other people have to say as well and don't blame me when it all goes tits up.
TimSB
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 12:30 pm
Location: north of London, UK

Postby macwunder on Tue May 20, 2008 11:48 pm

TimSB wrote:PS I put a smiley in your O/P !!


It's good to be the admin!
Jeff -- Yellow RaQ XTR, 1x (so far) 1GHz P-III, 2GB RAM, 4 x 80GB RAID 1+0, SB1
PowerMac G3 500 MHz, 512 MB RAM, 40 GB, Ubuntu
HP DC7100 3 GHz P4 HT, 2.5 GB RAM, 4 x 320 GB RAID 1+0, BlueOnyx
HP has 12,000 BOGOMIPS Baby!!!
User avatar
macwunder
Legendary Forum member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 9:34 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Postby ink on Wed May 21, 2008 3:56 pm

I really hope this means the Qube SOHO functions made it into a new release !

please-oh-please :D
ink
Super Forum member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:50 pm

Postby TimSB on Wed May 21, 2008 4:17 pm

ink wrote:I really hope this means the Qube SOHO functions made it into a new release !

please-oh-please :D


Hmmm....now wouldn't that be good :-)

Have to wait and see I'm afraid !!

regards

Tim
Any advice I may give is given in good faith but may be incorrect so listen to what other people have to say as well and don't blame me when it all goes tits up.
TimSB
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 12:30 pm
Location: north of London, UK

Postby KlausGimm on Sat May 24, 2008 1:54 pm

really hope this means the Qube SOHO functions made it into a new release !

please-oh-please



Helll yeah ! Amen brother !!
Symantec Velociraptor 1300 - 2.10.3 ext3
Strongbolt (1.06.03) - rock stable Raid 10
4x Samsung SP2514N
Single CPU 1GHz
(Dual CPU leads to memory errors)
KlausGimm
Legendary Forum member
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Germany

Postby ink on Tue Jun 10, 2008 8:06 am

So when do we find out, the suspense is killing me :?:
ink
Super Forum member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:50 pm

Postby Daedalus on Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:17 pm

yeah tell us!... curious here as well.

cheers!
Daedalus
Mega Forum member
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 3:40 pm
Location: Netherlands

Postby Daedalus on Sun Jun 15, 2008 10:24 pm

Oh for crying out loud. Please tell us. I'd love to pay for soho qube3 style functionality. If it would work on qube hardware as well, well that would be ultimate.
Daedalus
Mega Forum member
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 3:40 pm
Location: Netherlands

Postby TimSB on Mon Jun 16, 2008 7:15 am

Hi all,

Please don't get upset......the whole idea of this thread was to be funny - to allow you to have a laugh at the comical possibilities....

The only serious side to this was to let you know that an updated OS was being worked on...

When Jimbob is ready to make an announcement, he'll do so.....but it'll only be announced once it's ready.....

So, please don't get upset.....

regards

Tim
Any advice I may give is given in good faith but may be incorrect so listen to what other people have to say as well and don't blame me when it all goes tits up.
TimSB
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 12:30 pm
Location: north of London, UK

Re: Well.....?

Postby Lasse on Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:48 pm

Maybe a weird idea/request but would a vga card work in a qube3 running SB2? This would give some nice extra options.
Lasse
Super Forum member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 11:57 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Well.....?

Postby jimbob on Fri Mar 20, 2009 2:02 pm

Pop a vga pci card in and see what happens...

Jimbob
Strongbolt - new life for old raqs
jimbob
Site Admin
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 9:09 am
Location: Devon, UK

Re: Well.....?

Postby jimbob on Fri Mar 20, 2009 2:02 pm

Starbolt asterisk PBX appliance would be a nice idea.

Currently in Beta Testing!
Strongbolt - new life for old raqs
jimbob
Site Admin
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 9:09 am
Location: Devon, UK


Return to Guess

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron